Now Reading
Last Week, The Best Beauty Looks Challenged Normalcy With Originality

Last Week, The Best Beauty Looks Challenged Normalcy With Originality

I

n life as it is in fashion, a little more can be just what you need to turn the tides around. A little more effort scores the winning goal, a little more practice makes the better designer, a little more patience produces the best wine. In the same vein, when it comes to beauty, that little more creativity surely goes a long way and this came through last week as Black women challenged the norm with a little more oomph and a whole lot of originality.

The Looks

Makeup

Trust Jhene Aiko to add a little razzle-dazzle to an otherwise simple look. During last week’s Coachella event, the singer was spotted making a case for lavender as she strutted in an all-black ensemble. The spring-toned liner graced her lower lids and further added to the edge of her overall look. No doubt, Aiko knows how to do drama and she once again fulfilled on the assignment last week. 

Over in Nigeria, “Star girl” Erica Nlewedim was an unforgettable dream in smokey eyes and glossy lips. The actress and beauty entrepreneur delighted her fans as she showed up for the premiere of her new movie. Her look by Tenny Coco incorporated winged liner with smokey eyes for a dramatic effect and was finished off effortlessly with glossy lips. In between the edgy eyes and subtle lips, there was really nothing missing. 

Hair

Locs and braids are always going to be hairstyles that offer a little more than others. Long or short, colored or neutral, the versatile hairdos are universally fitting and a great way to embody edge. Last week, Halle Bailey and Maya Jama took an individual spin on the option and the results were impressive. Bailey’s short length flattered her round face. On the other hand, Jama channeled her inner Jamaica goddess thanks to her waist-length version. 

Check out the creative beauty looks spotted on Black women last week that offered just a little bit more…

Alicia Keys

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Jason Bolden (@jasonbolden)


.

Linda Osifo

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Linda Osifo (@lindaosifo)


.

Kelly Rowland

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Kelly Rowland (@kellyrowland)

Erica Nlewedim

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Teniola (@tennycoco)

Monica Denise

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Monica ? (@monicadenise)

Get the eyes

 

Halle Bailey

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Halle Bailey (@hallebailey)


.

Christina Milian

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Christina Milian (@christinamilian)


Black creative beauty looks

Jhene Aiko

Photo: Jhene Aiko / Instagram

Get the eyes

 

Wathoni Anyansi

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Wathoni Anyansi (@wathonianyansi)


.

Maya Jama

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Maya Jama (@mayajama)


For the latest in fashion, lifestyle and culture, follow us on Instagram @StyleRave_


This is a Style Rave original content exclusively created for our readers. If reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached, or otherwise used by any other publishing house or blogs, such use should provide a direct link to this source article. Use of and/or registration on any portion of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

—Read also

Style Rave participates in various affiliate marketing programs, which means we may get paid commissions on editorially chosen products purchased through our links to retailer sites.

Copyright © 2022 Style Rave NG LLC dba STYLE RAVE

Scroll To Top